Congratulations to Rockford Fire Chief Derek Bergsten. He was named Fire Chief of the Year by the Illinois Fire Chiefs Association.  Each year, the fire chief that has made the most significant and ongoing contributions to firefighting receives the award.

Chief Bergsten began his service with the Rockford Fire Department in 1994 and reached the rank of Chief in 2008. The last Rockford fire chief to earn the honor was Chief James Cragan in 1980.

Tags: , ,